Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Book Review: Curse of the Spider King

I finally got my hands on this book a couple months ago, and it was worth the wait. Just like the previous books by Wayne Thomas Batson and Christopher Hopper, it was filled with adventure, action, suspense, and page-turning plots. Fans of Batson and Hopper will not be disappointed by the authors' latest release; they will love the new characters, settings, and creatures. It was quite interesting seeing the styles of both authors combined.

The story had a unique twist; instead of humans from Earth traveling to another world, elves from another world travel to our planet, in search of seven unsuspecting thirteen-year-olds who hold the key to survival of the elven race. Evil forces are also on the hunt, in a race against time to kill the seven before the elves can reach them.

In the beginning of the book, I thought it was a little slow (only compared to Batson's previous novels!), but it didn't take long before I was hooked. The characters, who are seventh graders, might be easier for middle schoolers to relate to; but readers of all ages who are fans of Wayne Thomas Batson, Christopher Hopper, or fantasy in general will love the book. I also liked how God and Christianity seemed to play a bigger part in this novel than in some of the authors' previous books.

I especially recommend this book to librarians - as they are the heroes in this story! - and to people who say they don't like to read. Their opinion just may change after reading this!

To learn more about Curse of the Spider King, visit:

Or visit the authors' websites at: and

To see Curse of the Spider King on Amazon, click HERE.